SJPT Board and staff pictured last fall | Staff archive

We love our board members. They are essential to the Preservation Trust’s functioning as a nonprofit organization—but more than that, they are among our hardest-working volunteers, and they’re an extraordinary group of people who bring a wealth of professional experience to SJPT’s leadership.

The past year has been an especially dynamic one in our “boardroom,” as an unusually large number of new prospects have been appointed to fill midterm vacancies. All six of these appointees are standing for election to full three-year terms. Please click on their names to read about each candidate:

Erik Anderson Henry Island
Martha Fuller Orcas Island
Peter Kilpatrick San Juan Island
Michael Popiwny At large
Barbara Rosenkotter At large
Camille Uhlir San Juan Island

In addition, eight incumbent trustees are standing for re-election:

Willy Borner Shaw Island
Nancy Greene Lopez Island
Sarah Hart At large
Alice Hurd At large
Joann Otto San Juan Island
Phil Sherburne Decatur Island
Allen Smith Orcas Island
Keith Wentworth San Juan Island

Long-time trustee Tom Bayley is stepping off the board. His fellow trustees have appointed Tom to a new honorary role as Founder Emeritus.

Seven incumbent trustees will continue serving out their current terms. They are: Tom Cowan, Geoff Dunbar, Charles Givens, Jack Groban, Judy Meyer, Mary Miller, and John Whetten.

Our debt of gratitude to each of our trustees is enormous. We thank them for their service to the Preservation Trust, and to the cause of conserving the beauty and way of life that make the San Juan Islands so special and beloved.