The San Juan Preservation Trust is pleased to announce this year’s Climate Leadership Scholarship winners: Congratulations to Eve Eon (Orcas Island High School) and Ava Martin (Friday Harbor High School). 

For the fifth year in 2024, a committee of Preservation Trust board members selected a pair of high school seniors from a truly impressive group of applicants from across San Juan County. Eve and Ava will each receive a $4,000 scholarship, awarded in two $2,000 increments for each of their first two years of college. The intent of the scholarships is to recognize and encourage students in our island communities who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment, effort, and imagination in addressing the issue of climate change, and who plan a course of collegiate study that equips them to advance their climate leadership goals.

Meet Eve and Ava in this brief video: